What am I forgetting

Questions on general information and things that do not fit into any other categories.

Moderator: srparr

hike23
NewbieCake

What am I forgetting

Post by hike23 »

I am really excited about my first Isle Royale trip in a couple weeks (19th). I am not new to backpacking but I am new to this NP. I am currently in Texas so the weather is much different. My hike on the lonestar trail last week was in the 90s. So with that being said I have a couple questions on equipment to make sure I am not forgetting anything. I have layers to go from 40 to 60. Rain gear. Typical food for 5 days. Tent and sleeping bag (20) pad etc. Water filter, first aid, bug spray, bug head net, trekking poles (for mud) head light. Jet boil stove and backup collapsible stick stove (taking plane so backup in case I cant buy fuel). Camera, map, tp, and gators for brushy trails. In all about 32 lbs. I typically hike 15 to 18 miles per day but have planned this trip for no more than 12 miles per day to enjoy the sights and deal with any obstacles that I am not aware of.

Can you think of anything I have forgotten that may be unique for this trip?
JerryB
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 14

Re: What am I forgetting

Post by JerryB »

You have a good plan, so enjoy. You may want to consider a tarp. It can give you some dry space for cooking in the rain or a dry place to sit. You can also hang it on the shelter screen to hold out some cold and hold in some heat, in case it is cold.
torpified
IR Expert
Isle Royale Visits: 6

Post by torpified »

It looks like you have the essential bases well covered! Two thoughts: lightweight camp shoes to lounge in at the end of the day? -- your walking shoes are liable to be muddy and damp. A eye mask or functional equivalent for sleeping?-- because it will be daylight far past hiker midnight.
hike23
NewbieCake

Post by hike23 »