Using Quotes in messages

Questions, answers, suggestions and/or opinions about this web board or, the Isle Royale Info web site. If it's a Web Board or Web Site operational question, check here for an answer or, to ask a question.

Moderator: fonixmunkee

Post Reply

Topic author
Richard1961
LNT Expert
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:20 pm
Isle Royale Visits: 1

Using Quotes in messages

Post by Richard1961 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:06 pm

How do you Quote only part of a post? When I try to highlight a part of a message it still copies the whole post. It is probley simple dimple, but sometime computers don't like me. Richard

User avatar

Rafiki
IR Expert
Posts: 502
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:11 am
Isle Royale Visits: 4
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Using Quotes in messages

Post by Rafiki » Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:45 pm

Hey Richard,

You have to highlight the area you want to quote, right click your mouse and select "copy". Click the post reply button to begin your reply. One the empty message box is displayed, right below where is shows your subject box is a list of options that shows B for bold, i for italics, u for underline, and immediately following that option is the quote button. Click it. Once you do something like this will appear [ quote] TYPE HERE [/quote ] except there will not be written "TYPE HERE" in between the quote boxes. You will have to paste what you have copied in between where it says "TYPE HERE". Furthermore, the will not be a space between the first [ and the letter q and the last ] and the letter e. I had to put those spaces there, otherwise if I didn't, it would have quoted me saying TYPE HERE. Watch as I copy and quote what I have written so far.
Hey Richard,

You have to highlight the area you want to quote, right click your mouse and select "copy". Click the post reply button to begin your reply. One the empty message box is displayed, right below where is shows your subject box is a list of options that shows B for bold, i for italics, u for underline, and immediately following that option is the quote button. Click it. Once you do something like this will appear [ quote] TYPE HERE [/quote ] except there will not be written "TYPE HERE" in between the quote boxes. You will have to paste what you have copied in between where it says "TYPE HERE". Furthermore, the will not be a space between the first [ and the letter q and the last ] and the letter e. I had to put those spaces there, otherwise if I didn't, it would have quoted me saying TYPE HERE. Watch as I copy and quote what I have written so far.
or look what happens if I didn't put spaces between the brackets like I mentioned above when I wrote "TYPE HERE"
TYPE HERE
Pretty simple stuff huh? If you don't want to hit the button, you could always type what the button gives you when you press it if you realize you want to quote something after you typed it rather than copying and pasting it between the quote brackets that are exhibited after you press the button. If this sounds confusing or if you need more help, just specify where you are getting lost or where I can be more detailed about something. Hope some of this makes some sense though :)
4 Trips - 254 Miles Hiked: 2004 (3 Days), 2010 (11 Days), 2011 (13 Days), 2012 (8 Days)


Topic author
Richard1961
LNT Expert
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:20 pm
Isle Royale Visits: 1

Re: Using Quotes in messages

Post by Richard1961 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:31 am

look what happens if I didn't put spaces between the brackets like I mentioned above when I wrote "TYPE HERE"
I see said the blind man.
Pretty simple stuff huh?
Thanks much. Richard


Topic author
Richard1961
LNT Expert
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:20 pm
Isle Royale Visits: 1

Re: Using Quotes in messages

Post by Richard1961 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:07 am

Thanks again. What I was doing was highlighting what I wanted to copy then I was hitting the Quote buton in the top righthand corner of the message. This would copy the entire post and I could not figure out why it did that instead of what I highlighted. Richard

User avatar

Rafiki
IR Expert
Posts: 502
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:11 am
Isle Royale Visits: 4
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Using Quotes in messages

Post by Rafiki » Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:16 pm

Glad I could be of assistance Richard :)
4 Trips - 254 Miles Hiked: 2004 (3 Days), 2010 (11 Days), 2011 (13 Days), 2012 (8 Days)

User avatar

alecto73
Trailblazer
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:02 pm
Isle Royale Visits: 2
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Contact:

Re: Using Quotes in messages

Post by alecto73 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:05 pm

You can also use the "quote" button and trim it to just what you want. Tom-ay-to/tom-ah-to...
|| Jess ||

Post Reply