Coffee On The Isle

Discuss food & groceries, share recipes, and other backcountry cooking & food-related topics here!

Moderator: hooky

thomasroshae
NewbieCake

Coffee On The Isle

Post by thomasroshae »

Hey folks, I'm a newbie poster to the forum but have thoroughly enjoyed reading all of your posts on the endless discussion topics surrounding Isle Royale. In preparation for my upcoming trip (August 15-22) and 3rd trip to the Island, I am curious as to how others are making their morning cup 'o joe. I'm a self proclaimed coffee snob meaning I like my French/Aero press, I can barely choke down a cup of Folgers, and I can barely function until that sweet elixir is coursing through my veins. That being said, I'd like to hear how you are making your coffee. How do you make it? Do you bring your own fresh grounds? Any other thoughts or suggestions on the topic are appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Tom
JerryB
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 14

Re: Coffee On The Isle

Post by JerryB »

I use Starbucks Via. Weighs next to nothing and, to my unsophisticated tastes, is great
Ingo
Forum Moderator

Post by Ingo »

My formula for weight to taste is: when it's on my back, it's Via also. When I'm paddling (or close to the car), a drip filter and home ground. Haven't gone down the french press route, although I appreciate it when others make it :).
22: BI-PC-BI-RH, 21: RH-ML-DF-MB-DF, 18: MC-PC-BI-DB-RH-DF, 17: WI-IM-SB-FL-WC, 16: RH-CI-TI-RH, 14: BI-ML-CI-CH-MB, 13: RH-PI, 12: MC-CB-HL-TH, 11: WC-HC-WC, 09: MC-BI-DN-RH, 05: MI-CI-MB-DF-RH-TM-RH, 02: MC-LR-WL-CH, 01: BI-DB-RH, 79: worked RH
Tampico
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 4

Post by Tampico »

Starbucks Via. They're a little spendy, but they're small and light and surprisingly good.
thomasroshae
NewbieCake

Post by thomasroshae »

Thanks for the replies. It sounds like I will go down the "Via" route. I've had them before and I do agree, they are better than expected.
voyageur kin
NewbieCake