Homemade Gear & Gadgets

Questions about equipment and supplies to bring on a trip (including reviews).

Moderator: hooky

ScoutDad
LNT Expert
Isle Royale Visits: 3

Homemade Gear & Gadgets

Post by ScoutDad »

Anyone care to share what homemade gear or gadgets they've made or adapted for the trail? I'm always looking for good ideas to share with my scouts!

One item I made was an external frame quick repair kit:

I cut four- 6" lengths of straight coathanger and bent about 3/4 " of each end all the way over on each piece, then secured the pieces to the frame of my pack with 4 small hose clamps. In the event my frame breaks at a joint or at a straight tube, I can use the hanger pieces and hose clamps to splint it. It's ultra lightweight, and never leaves my pack frame unless needed. I've also used the wires as a makeshift pot support/grill; setting them across rocks.
My profession is to always find God in nature.
- Henry David Thoreau -
Tom
Forum Moderator
Isle Royale Visits: 16

Re: Homemade Gear & Gadgets

Post by Tom »

Can't say it's homemade, but about three wraps of duct tape (wrapped back on itself) around a Nalgene bottle seems to be just the right amount for most trips...

Now, if I could only figure out how to carry the WD-40. :wink:
Keweenaw
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 30

Post by Keweenaw »

Not homemade either, but I learned long ago that a couple of diaper pins on the outside of the pack make great clothes dryers while hiking.

I once whittled myself a spoon to replace a forgotten one, but I don't think that counts.

Bob
My leatherwork is available through my Etsy shop at http://www.etsy.com/shop/BirchCreekLeather
Backpacker534
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 9

Post by Backpacker534 »