Mixed trip Canoe/hiking

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

tcreech
NewbieCake

Mixed trip Canoe/hiking

Post by tcreech »

Hi all, newbie here. Planning first trip to IR (late July or early August). I'd like to combine canoe & backpacking. I'm 55, fit outdoorsman, with 3 daughters (23,18,15) also very fit.
Does this sound reasonable?
Dropped off at Malone Bay, we canoe to Lake Ritchie (2-3 days) . Leave canoes and small food cache, hike to
hatchet lake>minong mine>daisy farm> back to lake Ritchie (4-5 days). then canoe back to Malone Bay.
My first concern would be having enough time after dropoff to make it to Siskiwit/Wood Lake camp.

Feedback appreciated,

Tom
MikeT
IR Pro
Isle Royale Visits: 23

Re: Mixed trip Canoe/hiking

Post by MikeT »

Welcome!
- Guessing based on your plan, you are taking the Voyageur to Malone?? If so, you will arrive at Malone @11am so, there is plenty of time to make Wood Lake IF Siskiwit Lake conditions are good. Big IF, this is a lake that can be impossible to paddle sometimes, especially in a canoe.
- As far as the rest, I'm guessing you would be going through Intermediate Lake to Lake Richie which is very doable in one day.
- Not sure about leaving canoe at Richie with stuff, but do not think it would be a problem.
- Hatchet Lake is a long ways and I am not sure it would be worth it? I would do McCargoe instead then cut down to Daisy via East Chickenbone trail. The girls might like Daisy for the activities. It is a bit busier, but still beautiful
- From there to Moskey, spectacular campground
- then over to Richie.

Couple of thoughts...
Mike T.
"Isle Royale Info - A Comprehensive Guide to Isle Royale National Park" available at: http://www.isleroyale.info
"Isle Royale Itinerary Generator" an intuitive program to create and manage itineraries. Description at: http://www.isleroyale.info/ig_description.html
"Half the fun is in the planning"
Ingo
Forum Moderator
Isle Royale Visits: 14

Post by Ingo »