2nd Isle Royale Trip Itinerary Ideas - RH-DF-CH-MC

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

dextermichigan
NewbieCake

2nd Isle Royale Trip Itinerary Ideas - RH-DF-CH-MC

Post by dextermichigan »

Hi Everyone,

I'm planning my 2nd trip to Isle Royale, with my wife, 2 friends that went to IR with us before, one moderate hiker, and 1 complete novice (the last 2 are chronic 3-4 marathon/yr runners). Overall, I would call this group moderate hikers. I am planning on going June 28 (over 4th of July). Any advice or ideas on itineraries? How bad with the crowds be (last time I went was over labor day and it was empty)?

Day 1: Ferry/Rock Harbor - Daisy Farm (7.1 mi)
Day 2: Daisy Farm - Moskey Basin (3.9 mi)
Day 3: Moskey Basin to Chippewa Harbor (6.2 mi)
Day 4: Chippewa Harbor - McCargo Cove (10.6 mi)
Day 5: McCargo (maybe a day hike or just sit on the shore and swim) - Voyageur II to Rock Harbor (stay at RH or grab a night at the lodge)
Day 6: Ferry return

Intangibles: #1: I'm afraid that my crew won't be willing to do more than around 6-8 miles per day, but I think I can convince them to do one longer day. #2: We really preferred the shoreline camps to the inland ones. #3: I swim whenever I see safe water - and swam last time at Rock Harbor, Daisy Farms, and McCargo Cove. It just makes my day to swim in icy water (I did too many cannonballs and flips off the sea plane dock at Rock Harbor and got a wee touch of minor hypothermia, but all in good fun).

If you have better ideas, I am all ears (for instance, I couldn't figure out how to also get in a trip to Todd Harbor).
tree rattt
May actually live on IR

Re: 2nd Isle Royale Trip Itinerary Ideas - RH-DF-CH-MC

Post by tree rattt »