Point Houghton from Siskiwit Campground

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

chrisdmac62
NewbieCake
Isle Royale Visits: 6

Point Houghton from Siskiwit Campground

Post by chrisdmac62 »

Hello Friends,
I am headed to IR for my fifth visit in about 2 weeks. I have backpacked almost everything, and I am working to close the last trails. I will stay on the boat from GP all the way to Rock Harbor to start this year, and spend 11 days on about 90 miles of trails to work back eventually to Windigo. On about day 8, I will hike to Siskiwit Bay CG from S. Desor. What I am wondering is if anyone can tell me about hiking from the Siskiwit Bay CG out to Point Houghton and back? Yes, this will be bushwacking, so times are slower. I am studying maps and photos, and I have a very good GPS.

Thank you for any advice, and for all of your other contributions here.

Safe travels.

Chris.
johnhens
Forum Moderator
Isle Royale Visits: 34

Re: Point Houghton from Siskiwit Campground

Post by johnhens »

I looked at Google Earth this AM. It looks like pretty dense vegetation a good part of the way. You could walk a part of it on beach (depending on lake level). It looks to be level. We have done a lot of bushwacking at various places on the Island and expect to run into heavy brush when we do. Would be a fun way to spend a day.
Midwest Ed
IR Expert
Isle Royale Visits: 8

Post by Midwest Ed »