Itinerary Suggestions

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

DEHiker
NewbieCake

Itinerary Suggestions

Post by DEHiker »

This site has been a wealth of info and I've been scouring over as much as I can. Since there is so much experience and information found here, I was hoping for some suggestions on some good ideas for trips.

A little background. This trip is planned for next year just after Labor Day due to being a birthday celebration trip and due my work not allowing me to I get a prime summer vacation. The Rangers recommended arriving no later than the weekend after Labor Day due to everything closing for the season. I have limited backpacking experience, but have some current military survival training for the outdoors, so I am comfortable hiking and being isolated. I've been doing some more backpacking over the past year and acquiring proper gear (along with some good ideas from these forums for specific IR items). My hiking compadre (my BNL) has a vast "camping" experience, but also limited backpacking.

We will be traveling from the LP so it looks like Houghton will be the port we will be using. We have a solid week to make plans work and would like at least 5 days on the island. Since it is a celebration we did talk about taking the seaplane one way to make it special (I'm a pilot also, so I get that benefit as well!), but funds are not limitless.

What are some suggestions to get a good experience without doing a "death march" to get it all in? I think we both want to keep moving each day, so a different location each night would be preferable, but we are open to finding the best experience. The idea of 7 miles a day is doable. I'm still going over everything on this site, but I might overlook some good advice.
Tightlines01
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 7

Re: Itinerary Suggestions

Post by Tightlines01 »

Options are plenty from Houghton....