Newbies first trip to IR

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

terry.dunn
NewbieCake
Isle Royale Visits: 1

Newbies first trip to IR

Post by terry.dunn »

Good morning everyone,

I have spent weeks on this site reading everything I can, I have enjoyed it immensely. This Aug 2016 I plan on my first trip to IR. So far I will be alone. I plan on going for 4 days on the island. I have NO backpacking experience other than when I was 16 years old. Im now 60, in good health. I walk 3 to 4 miles a day for simple exercise. I will take a few weekend trips this year to get used to the equipment. I have read many times that most people over estimate what they can do. I understand that. So my question, What is a good little trip route for 4 days, not over doing it for a newbie?

I plan on leaving out of Copper Harbor since it will get me to the island earlier than from Houghton. Thanks everyone!
3MTA3
NewbieCake
Isle Royale Visits: 3

Re: Newbies first trip to IR

Post by 3MTA3 »

I'd suggest taking a water taxi to Moskey and making your way back.

If that doesn't work out, then I'd suggest going to 3 mile, Daisy, and back to Rock Harbor. You can make a loop & not backtrack. While in Rock Harbor, a day hike to Scoville Point &/or renting a canoe to get to the Lookout Louise trail from Tobin Harbor would be wonderful.
Ingo
Forum Moderator
Isle Royale Visits: 14

Post by Ingo »