Howdy/trip comments

Questions about water transportation and fishing on the island.

Moderators: Ingo, johnhens

Mastertangler
NewbieCake

Howdy/trip comments

Post by Mastertangler »

I'm new in these parts and thought I would say howdy and see if some of the vets might comment on my proposed route this summer. I thank you in advance.

Most of my trips are built around fishing so any help/subtle hints are appreciated. I usually go to the Quetico or Georgian Bay. I have been wanting to do the Isle ever since I backpacked it many years ago and found it truly exceptional.

Well here's how it looks on paper. Any comments pro or con are appreciated. Entry date June 20
Day 1) ferry over, hang out in Tobin and troll for lakers
Day 2) Inter-island ferry to Chippewa harbor.........proceed to whittlesly
Day 3) night on Wood or intermediate
Day 4) Night on Ritchie
Day 5) Night on Chickenbone
Day 6) Night on Birch island of pickerel bay (if she lets us through)
Day 7) Lane cove or Duncan
Day 8) rock harbor

I will likely throw in a rest day or two somewheres along the way. We are in canoes BTW
Thanks again, glad to have found the site.

MT
johnhens
Forum Moderator
Isle Royale Visits: 34

Re: Howdy/trip comments

Post by johnhens »

HI MA,
Welcome to the forums.
I would spend the night at Wood, better fishing there and on Siskiwit.
(When are you going?)

John
Ingo
Forum Moderator
Isle Royale Visits: 14

Post by Ingo »

Couple thoughts:
Agree with JohnH on Wood Lake. Maybe the nicest inland lake site.
We got layed over on Birch Island for a day due to wind, and it could have easily been 2. That's your only stretch of completely open water, so take the window of opportunity if/when it's there. In light of that, you may want to skip Chickenbone and go straight to McCargoe or Birch Island. Would be a longer day, but not too bad given your experience. But you can play it as you go.
Brady Cove behind Birch Island is supposed to be great northern fishing.