Inexperienced Individual With Canoe/Kayak Questions

Questions about water transportation and fishing on the island.

Moderators: Ingo, johnhens

Rafiki
IR Expert
Isle Royale Visits: 7

Inexperienced Individual With Canoe/Kayak Questions

Post by Rafiki »

I am quickly getting to the point where I have walked along all the foot trails that Isle Royale has to offer and have stayed at all of the campgrounds found beside the trails. I now have a craving to explore the island in other ways. Backcountrying is one option I look forward to exploring. The other is canoing or kayaking around and through the island. The latter of the two is the reason for writing this thread.

I am a novice when its comes to water travel. Yes, I have rented a canoe before and taken on it on a state park lake. Yes, I have used my uncles canoe on the lake that rests behind his house. But no, I have never taken any classes or courses on canoing or kayaking. So, before I get way ahead of myself, how experienced do you think one should be of if or she plans to canoe or kayak around Isle Royale? Should I have some sort of training? Or is being able to swim combined with having life jackets on board enough to remove most of the danger out of water travel at Isle Royale? It should also be noted that I intend to stay as close to the shoreline of where ever it is that I intend to go. In otherwords, provided that I have enough water depth to navigate through the water, I plan to stay within 50ft of the shoreline. Does this make things anymore safer? I'd love to hear everyones thoughts. Patiently waiting. Thanks.

Rafiki

P.S. In the end, I want to visit every water campground that Isle Royale has to offer.
343.1 Miles Hiked: 2004 (3 Days), 2010 (11 Days), 2011 (13 Days), 2012 X 2 (8 + 12 Days), 2013 (9 Days/Paddling), 2019 (30 Days/Paddling)
treeplanter
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 12

Re: Inexperienced Individual With Canoe/Kayak Questions

Post by treeplanter »