First trip to Isle Royale

Questions on general information and things that do not fit into any other categories.

Moderator: srparr

visladog
NewbieCake
Isle Royale Visits: 0

First trip to Isle Royale

Post by visladog »

Hi all... I am posting my plans to get some thoughts from people that have been to the Isle already. I have been making a trip to the Porkies annually now for 10+ years. Usually form 8-10 days at a time. I love it there. I have always wanted to plan a trip to Isle Royale, but never got around to it. This is the year.

I will be traveling with another fellow backpacker and was planning on bringing a canoe. I plan on leaving out of Houghton. This trip will not consist of as much hiking as my other ventures, since I plan on spending most of my time in the chain of lakes connected by portage to Siskiwit Lake. My trip as of now is planned for May 21-29. I have heard horrible stories on here about the bugs and am a little leery about coming in June. I will be going to Craig Lake in August so I need a couple months between trips to keep work happy. Is the last week of May not a good choice??? I know it will be really cold at night, but that is better than bugs to me!! From what I've seen it looks to be an average of high 50's during the day and 30's at night. I'm OK with that.

My first question is..... How feasible is it to canoe along the shore of Superior. I would like to be able to make it from Rock Harbor to Chippewa Harbor in the first couple of days. Of course...... Weather permitting. I've been on Superior when it is too much for a canoe and understand that I might be stuck close to Rock Harbor if the weather does not cooperate.

How is the fishing in Siskiwit, Richie, and the other connected lakes??? I like to fish and this is part of the reason I am bringing the canoe.

When they talk about no fire, does that include the little Sierra stoves that use little chunks of wood for fuel. I can't think of the proper name right now?