First time IR trip in May. Does my gear list have any glaring holes?

Questions about equipment and supplies to bring on a trip (including reviews).

Moderator: hooky

cadenparulski
NewbieCake

First time IR trip in May. Does my gear list have any glaring holes?

Post by cadenparulski »

I'm planning on going to IR from Copper Harbor from 5/14 to 5/18 and backpacking the eastern side of the island. I've been doing a ton of research lately, and while I'm no newbiecake when it comes to hiking and camping, this will by far be the longest and most extensive backpacking trip I've done. I was wondering if some of you seasoned IR backpackers could tell me a thing or two about my tentative gear list, maybe what to add or drop. I'm bringing warm clothing and rain gear in hopes of being completely prepared for whatever the weather on IR can throw at me in May.

Clothing:

2 pairs wool socks
1 or 2 pairs cotton socks (to sleep in, or add layers in case my tootsies get cold)
2 pairs moisture-wicking boxer-briefs
1 pair athletic shorts
1 pair polyester sweatpants
1 UA hoodie (thick and warm)
1 Frogg-togg rain jacket
1 pair polyester winter pants (I plan on spraying these to waterproof them, I don't want to spend $$$ on new pants)
1 cotton long-sleeve shirt (to sleep in)
1 athletic shirt
1 pair gaiters (are these necessary if I'm waterproofing my pants? My boots are waterproof up to 6 inches)
1 pair tennis shoes (in case my boots fall apart, and something to wear around the campsite)

Gear:

Deuter ACT Lite 65L (+10) backpack
Semoo 3-person tent (3-person seems like too much, but I like a roomy tent, and this thing is smaller than some 2 or 1-person tents I've had)
0F sleeping bag (I don't remember the brand, but it is very small and lightweight)
Anker PowerCore 20100 portable charger (I'm bringing my phone, purely for pictures and keeping track of time)
watch (in case my phone dies or I drop it in a lake and I can no longer tell the time)
inflatable pillow