Beginner trip for 12 and 9 year old boys

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

sfrmagt2001
NewbieCake

Beginner trip for 12 and 9 year old boys

Post by sfrmagt2001 »

I am totally new to backpacking but my whole family loves the outdoors. I’ve always wanted to check out isle Royale and I’m now committed to my young sons that we’re going! Now I’m a little gun shy but we’re doing it! My question for this forum is can I plan a 3/4 day 2/3 night trip just to give them a taste of a hiking trip? If so, what would you all recommend from starting to camping to ending? We’ll be coming from the Detroit area and want to schedule this in August. Thank you thank you for any itinerary ideas!!! Scott
dcclark
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 4

Re: Beginner trip for 12 and 9 year old boys

Post by dcclark »

Welcome to the forums! (And eventually, to Isle Royale!)

My top bit of advice is: Practice! Do some kind of overnight backpacking trip with your sons, somewhere downstate, to see what it feels like. Make sure your packs are at a reasonable weight when you do, so you get the full experience.

As for Isle Royale, by coming from Michigan you'll almost certainly start from Rock Harbor. You can take the Ranger III out of Houghton (slower but more stable and lets you finish registration on the boat) or Queen IV out of Copper Harbor (about twice as fast). I like to use the Queen, since it arrives earlier (giving you more time to hike when you arrive) and departs later (letting you hike in from a campground on departure day, rather than having to stay in Rock Harbor the night before).

A decent itinerary would be to walk the Rock Harbor trail from Rock Harbor to Moskey Basin and back. You can stop at Three Mile, Daisy Farm, and/or Moskey Basin along the way. This would let you set a more ambitious goal (e.g. maybe Rock Harbor to Daisy Farm on the first day), but ditch halfway (at Three Mile) if you discover you're not ready for it.