TR: 6/24-6/30 2021 RH-3M-MB-McC-LC-RH

Reports or links to reports on trips.

Moderator: Tom

alicecw
NewbieCake
Isle Royale Visits: 2

TR: 6/24-6/30 2021 RH-3M-MB-McC-LC-RH

Post by alicecw »

First time visitor to the park, accompanied by a longtime friend (hereafter referred to as B). We had originally planned to go in 2020, but postponed our trip until 2021. By the time we got there, I had been researching for almost 2 years and couldn’t wait to finally experience it for myself. Thanks to this forum, I was well prepared.

Day 0: Drive to Houghton + Canyon Falls Roadside Park

We met in Milwaukee and drove up to Houghton the day before the Ranger III was scheduled to depart. It’s a long drive, so we decided to treat ourselves by stopping at Canyon Falls Roadside Park, just south of L’Anse, for a short hike. Great spot for a break!

We stayed at the Super 8 in Houghton, which is just a short walk from the Isle Royale Visitor Center and lots of restaurants. We had pizza and cocktails at the Ambassador and though I initially planned on getting some local beer at the KBC taproom, my packing had been haphazard so I needed to go back to the motel room to reorganize my gear. It was quite bright outside when we went to bed at 9:30pm, which was the start of a theme for the trip.

Day 1: Ranger III + Rock Harbor to Three Mile via Tobin Harbor Trail

Got up early so we could have breakfast at Suomi. Thanks to the forum for that tip--it was delicious and not crowded at all. We were among the first handful of people to arrive for the Ranger III, but the ferry felt pretty empty even once we got moving. Four canoes and two boats (including the park superintendent’s boat) also made the journey with us. I couldn’t have asked for better weather. Lake Superior was smooth and gentle for our crossing. Masks were required inside the ferry, but not on the outside deck.